NewsOctober 31 2018

South Dakota political history could be made Nov. 6

Posted by Lucy

South Dakota political history could be made Nov. 6
By Lucy Halverson
   In less than a week, South Dakotans will go to their polling places to cast their ballots to elect a new governor in what can only be described as a historic race. Voters will either elect the first female governor in the state’s history or the first Democratic governor in nearly 45 years.  
   United States Representative Kristi Noem and State Senator Billie Sutton are seeking the office of governor of South Dakota. There have only been four Democratic governors in the state’s history, the last, Gov. Dick Kneip, was elected for a second term nearly 45 years ago in 1974. South Dakota has never elected a woman to the office of governor. Carole Hillard was the first female lieutenant governor to serve South Dakota. She was in office from 1995-2003 under Gov. William Janklow.  
   The General Election is next Tuesday, November 6. Polling places will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. local time. See sample copies of the ballot and polling locations on pages 12 and 13 of this week’s newspaper.  
   In addition to the governor’s race, South Dakota will also elect a new United States Representative, Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Auditor, State Treasurer, Commissioner of School and Public Lands, Public Utilities Commissioner, and decide the fate of five ballot measures. 
   On the local level, voters of District 26 – Lyman, Brule, Buffalo and Jones - will elect a State Senator between Republican Joel Koskan of Wood and Democrat Troy Heinert of Mission. In the District 26B House race Republican Rebecca Reimer of Oacoma, and Debra Smith of Vivian are vying for the position.  
   Four candidates are running for three seats on the Lyman County Commission, including Zane Reis of Oacoma, Steve Perry, of Presho, Ryan Huffman of Vivian, and Jared Schelske of Reliance.  
   There are no races for county Sheriff or Register of Deeds, and the incumbents Steve Manger and Tracy Brakke will remain in office. Auditor Pam Michalek did not run for re-election and Deputy Auditor Debra Halverson had no opponent for the Auditor’s position, which she will assume January 1. 
   Brule County elected officials also face no opponents and the incumbents will serve another term with the exception of Commissioner Don Reinesch of Kimball who chose not to seek re-election and will be replaced by Gregory Mairose, the only candidate to file a nominating petition. Current Register of Deeds, Elaine Reimer, who filed for another term last March has since announced her upcoming retirement at the end of the year, and the county commission will appoint someone to fill the office until the next election in 2020.

Theme by Xen