NewsMay 30 2018

Primary Election set for June 5

Posted by Lucy

Primary Election set for June 5

Lucy Halverson/LCH

    Registered voters in Lyman County will go to the polls Tuesday, June 5 to vote in the South Dakota Primary Election but will also decide a local race between Republican candidates for county commission and Chamberlain School District Board of Education.
   The ballot a voter receives will depend on where the voter resides and party affiliation.
   Only registered Republicans will vote in the Republican Primary election to select a nominee for Governor between Mary Jackley and Kristi Noem and in the three-way race for United States Representative between Republicans Neal Tapio, Shantel Krebs, and Dustin 'Dusty” Johnson. Republicans will also vote for three nominees for county commission.
   Seven candidates are vying for the Republican nomination to the General Election in November, including James Kotz, Michelle Langenbau, LeRoy Ellis, Ryan Huffman, Steve Perry, Zane Reis, and James Schaefer. The top three individuals with the most votes will be placed on the ballot for the November 6, 2018 General Election.
   A non-political ballot will be issued to voters affiliated with other political parties for consideration of Amendment Y.
   Voters living within the Chamberlain School District will vote for two candidates for the Board of Education from a field of four candidates, including Keith Reuer, Jerri Ann Haak, Stephanie Bolman Altamirano and Bart Randall.
   Information regarding polling locations as well as sample ballots are printed on pages 12 and 13 of this issue of the Lyman County Herald. Polls will open at 7:00 a.m. Tuesday June 5 and close at 7:00 p.m. Due to publishing deadlines, the Herald will post unofficial election results to our Facebook page once results are released Tuesday night, and publish official results in the June 13 issue of the Herald. Remember to exercise your right to vote.

Theme by Xen