News Item: Presho takes second at amateur tournament
(Category: News)
Posted by Lucy
Wednesday March 08, 2017

Presho takes second at amateur tournament
   The 70th annual South Dakota Amateur Basketball Association state basketball tournament concluded Sunday evening at the Lyman gymnasium in Presho, with Sioux Falls claiming the Class “A” title and Watertown capturing the “B” championship.
   The South Dakota Amateur Basketball Association inducted three new members to the Hall of Fame during the Saturday evening session, including Cooper Garnos of Wall, a former basketball standout at Lyman.
Following a successful basketball career at Lyman and Dakota Wesleyan University, Cooper played amateur basketball for 22 years between 1986 and 2011. During this time, Cooper played for the Presho Wolves and was on three championship teams in 2003, 2008, and 2009. Cooper played in a total of 16 State Amateur tournaments and was named to the all-tournament team twice in 1993 and 1996.
Cooper lists his favorite basketball memories and influences to be his coaches Arlo Huffman, Bob King, Tom Young, Gordon Fosness, and area basketball junkie and supporter Lonis Wendt. Cooper is often fond of saying, “I got lucky, I have had the opportunity to be part of one of the greatest families, South Dakota Basketball.”
   In the Class “A” championship game, Sioux Falls-Tibbs defeated Aberdeen Hub City 88-80 behind 32 points from tourney MVP Skyler Bloch.  Preston Broughton scored 19 points for the winners, while Kelly Hubbard added 15. 
   For Aberdeen, Kevin Ratzch scored 20 points, while Adam White, Brandon Goetzinger, and Alvin Gunter added 12, 11, and 10 points respectively. 
   Joining MVP Bloch on the “A” all-tournament team were Sioux Falls teammates Hubbard and Jordan Miller, Ratzch, Goetzinger, and White from Aberdeen, Mitch Gray from Sioux Falls-Great Life, TJ McCauley from Rapid City-Showtime, and JF Jensen and Tony Fiegen from Volga. 
   In the final contest of the evening, Watertown-Foothills Contracting took down the host Presho Wolves 82-73 in the Class “B” title game, behind 16 points from Justin Johnson and 15 points from tourney MVP Dusty Tetzlaff.  Justin Brown added 12 points while Josh Hanson and Jordan King chipped in with 10 apiece. 
   For Presho, Jay Huls scored 22 points while Chris Maxwell added 12.   
   MVP Tetzlaff was joined on the “B” all-tourney team by Johnson and Kyle Weisner from Watertown, Jay Huls, Kyle Kurth, and Cody Volmer from Presho, Matt Malloy and Kyle Lindberg from Lennox, Trever Salmonson from Plankinton, and Jordan Buddenhagen from Huron.
Visit the Lyman County Herald's Facebook page for more pictures from the tournament.

This news item is from
( )